iconandlight

Iconography and Hand painted icons

What is the name of our God?Love, Mercy…St.John of Kronstadt

Leave a comment

xristosJesus Christ, with the Father and the Holy Spirit, is an unfathomable abyss of love to men.
Everywhere you see love, everywhere you breathe the fragrance of love. Our God is the God of love. His kingdom is the kingdom of love.
Love calms and agreeably expands the heart and vivifies it, whilst hatred painfully contracts and disturbs it. Those who hate others torture and tyrannise themselves
Every beauty in this world (personal beauty) is only a faint, insignificant shadow of the uncreated beauty, of the unspeakable goodness of God’s face; every earthly enjoyment is nothing in comparison to future delights.
I pray, Lord, that the faith of Christ may penetrate into the depths of my heart, that Christ’s Gospel may penetrate all my thoughts, feelings, words, and deeds, into all my bones and my brains, and not me only, but all men, as the universal truth, the highest wisdom, and the life eternal.
What is the name of our God? Love, Mercy, Compassion, Bountifulness. When you pray, contemplate with the eyes of your heart Love and Mercy standing before you — the Lover of men listening to you. God is love, and I am an image of God; therefore I ought to be all love.
Remember that every man is an image of God, and that all his glory is within him, in his heart. Man looks upon the face, whilst God looks upon the heart.
Remember that God the Word died for your brethren. The Lord is my life, my breath, my strength, my light, peace and joy, my food and drink; what shall I bring to such a Benefactor, or what shall I render unto Him?
The life of the heart is love, whilst malice and enmity against our brother are its death.

St.John of Kronstadt

Leave a Reply

