iconandlight

Iconography and Hand painted icons

The Prayer of my heart gave me such consolation that I felt there was no happier person on earth than I…

Χριστός Άμπελος η αληθινή_Jesus Christ- the true Vine Icon_иисус Христос-истинная Виноградная Лоза_119782738_LADO_ABULADZE_HRISTOS_VINOGRADNAYA_LOZAI went to church… I heard these words: “Pray without ceasing.”

Prayer (“Lord, Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me a sinner”) synchronized with one’s breathing.‎

The Prayer of my heart gave me such consolation that I felt there was no happier person on earth than I, and I doubted if there could be greater and fuller happiness in the kingdom of heaven. Not only did I feel this in my own soul, but the whole outside world also seemed to me full of charm and delight Everything drew me to love and thank God— people, trees, plants, animals. I saw them all as my kinsfolk. I found on all of them the magic of the name of Jesus.‎

“In God’s name please explain to me the meaning of the Apostle’s words, ‘Pray without ceasing.’ How is it possible to pray without ceasing? I want to know so much, but I cannot understand it at all.”

He was silent for a while and looked at me closely. Then he said, “Ceaseless interior prayer is a continual yearning of the human spirit toward God. To succeed in this consoling exercise we must pray more often to God to teach us to pray without ceasing. Pray more, and pray more fervently. It is prayer itself which will reveal to you how it can be achieved unceasingly; but it will take some time.”

From “The Way of a Pilgrim”

***

Saint Seraphim of Viritsa

Even in the most difficult times, he who will occupy himself diligently with the Jesus prayer, ascending with the frequent invocation of the Son of God’s name in ceaseless prayer, will be able to be saved easily.

Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind. 38 This is the first and great commandment. Matthew 22, 37

Comments are closed.