iconandlight

Iconography and Hand painted icons

Papa-Fotis Lauriotis the “Fool For Christ” of Mytilini

Papa-Fotis Lauriotis the “Fool For Christ” of Mytilini

Reposed on March 5, 2010

παπα-Φώτης Λαυριώτης_Father Photis Lavriotis of Mytilini_старец Фотий из Митилене (Лесбос)_Παπα ΦΩΤΗς0246He was an unmarried Archimandrite who worked tirelessly for the gospel, yet in a silent and real way, as displayed in the fact that he would walk around barefoot in both summer and winter.He was loved by all and known for his courage, asceticism, and commitment to Orthodox tradition. For the peculiarity of his appearance, he said: “I am a monk, which is why I do not attach much importance to my dress.”

St. Paisios the Athonite

-Father Paisios, when I walk in the streets of Thessaloniki, I face the following problem: As I walk, I come across various beggars most of whom are women holding babies in their arms, and claiming they are ill and in need of financial assistance. I always think they are lying to me. What would you do in my place?
-I, too, came across one of these women who asked for help, he replied. I immediately sympathised with her problem but I had very little money on me. I gave her 500 drachmas and told her: “Please forgive me as I do not have more money on me. However, I will give you my address so you can write to me and send me your own. When I go back to Mount Athos, I will try to collect some money to forward you.”
She took my address and I felt she was touched by my offer. After some time, I received a letter from her which did not include her address. Instead, she had enclosed the 500 drachma bill I had given her, and was asking me to forgive her for putting me in a difficult situation and thanked me for my kindness. I believe that if someone develops positive thoughts, even in the case of the woman beggar, he will not be a loser, because God, who knows our deepest intentions, will do him justice.

“God opposes the proud, but gives Grace to the humble.” (1Pet 5:5).

Priestmonk Christodoulos , “Elder Paisios of the Holy Mountain”,On Positive Thinking, Holy Mountain (1998)
Comments are closed.