iconandlight

Iconography and Hand painted icons

The “All-Merciful One”, Holy Elder Sampson the Confessor

Holy Elder Sampson the Confessor

Ἰησοῦς Χριστὸς_Jesus-Christ_Иисус-Христос-Byzantine Orthodox Icon5_ΧΡΙΣΤΟΣ-ГосподOn August 24th (the 11th by the old calendar) the Church commemorates the holy elder Sampson the Confessor.In 1921 he entered the brotherhood of the Alexander Nevsky Lavra, the elder was subjected to another arrest. Three hours before the arrest, St. Seraphim of Sarov appeared to the elder in a dream: “I remember seeing St. Seraphim of Sarov. He came in to see me while I was sleeping, leaned over me, and slowly read this prayer – “The All-Merciful One,” and I felt his tears on my forehead. In the morning I arose and wrote down the prayer. Three hours later I was arrested. The “All-Merciful One” accompanied me through 18 years of camps and all the rest.”

Here is this prayer:

“O All-merciful Mistress, Most-holy Sovereign, All-holy Virgin Mary, Mother of God, my indubitable and sole hope: do not shun me, do not reject me, do not abandon me, do not leave me; intercede, appeal, hearken; yea, Mistress, help and forgive, forgive, Most-holy One!”

Comments are closed.