iconandlight

Iconography and Hand painted icons

Abba Daniel on uninterrupted prayer, “And who is taking God away from us now?”

Saint Nikolai Velimirovič

ΔΑΝΙΗΛ ΤΗΣ ΣΚΗΤΕΩΣ_Abba Daniel of Scetis_daniel-e1307392226733Abba Daniel and Abba Ammoe were traveling. Abba Ammoe said, “Father, when will we arrive at the cell?” (that is, so that they could to pray to God). Abba Daniel replied, “And who is taking God away from us now?” The same God is in the cell and outside the cell.. By this we are taught uninterruptedness of prayer, thoughts about God, and contemplation of God’s works in us and around us. The Church facilitates prayer and intensifies it. So it is the same with solitude and confinement; each in its own way facilitates and intensifies it. He who does not want to pray will not be bound either by a church or a cell. Neither will he who has felt the pleasure of prayer be able to separate his nature or journeying from prayer.

The Prologue from Ohrid: Lives of Saints by Saint Nikolai Velimirovič for Old Calendar date March 24, and New Calendar date April 6.
http://livingorthodoxfaith.blogspot.gr/2009/12/prologue-march-24-april-6.html

Prayer by Elder Sophrony of Essex

O Lord Eternal and Creator of all things,
Who of Thy inscrutable goodness called me to this life;
Who bestowed on me the grace of Baptism and the Seal of the Holy Spirit;
Who imbued me with the desire to seek Thee, the one true God: hear my prayer.
I have no life, no light, no joy or wisdom; no strength except in Thee, O God.
Because of my unrighteousness I dare not raise my eyes to Thee. But Thou said to Thy disciples,
‘Whatsoever you shall ask in prayer believing, you shall receive.’ and
‘Whatsoever you shall ask in my name, that will I do.’
Wherefore I dare to invoke Thee. Purify me from all taint of flesh and spirit.
Teach me to pray aright….

Comments are closed.