iconandlight

Iconography and Hand painted icons

There men shine like the sun…St Tikhon of Zadonsk

Ανάσταση του Χριστούn1-w3e3-l3-89-1Monastery Studenica, King's Church

Χριστὸς ἀνέστη! Ἀληθῶς ἀνέστη!
Christ is risen! Truly He is risen!
ХристосВоскрес! Воистину Воскрес!
Kristus (ir) augšāmcēlies! Patiesi viņš ir augšāmcēlies!
ქრისტეაღსდგა! ჭეშმარიტადაღსდგა!
Le Christ est ressuscité! Vraiment Il est ressuscité!
Cristo ha resucitado! Verdaderamente, ha resucitado!

St Tikhon of Zadonsk

The temple of my body has been destroyed, and earth returns to earth, according to the word of God: ‘Dust you are, and into dust you shall return.’ but with the holy Church, I expect resurrection from the dead and the life of the world to come. My hope is sitting at the right hand of God, Jesus Christ, my Lord and God. He is my life and resurrection. He says to me: ‘I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in me shall not die but live.’ With His voice will He awaken me from my sleep.

I have gone away from you according to the way of earthly things; I have departed, and we no longer see each other as we did before. But we shall see each other in that place where shall be gathered all the nations that have lived from the beginning of the world to its very end. O God, grant that we may see each other there, where God is seen face to face, and gives new life to those who see Him, and comforts and gladdens them, and gives ineffable joy for all eternity. There men shine like the sun; there is true life; there is true honor and glory; there is true joy and gladness; there is true ecstasy, and all that is eternal and endless. ‘Let Your mercy, O Lord, be upon us, as we have hoped in You.’

Paschal Troparion tone 1

Christ is risen from the dead, trampling down death by death, and upon those in the tombs bestowing life!

Comments are closed.