iconandlight

Iconography and Hand painted icons

St. Abba Anoub,Hymn of Praise – Saint Nikolai Velimirovič

Χριστὸς ἀνέστη! Ἀληθῶς ἀνέστη!
Christ is risen! Truly He is risen!
ХристосВоскрес! Воистину Воскрес!
Kristusir augšāmcēlies! Patiesi viņš ir augšāmcēlies!
ქრისტეაღსდგა! ჭეშმარიტადაღსდგა!

St. Abba Anoub ( Anubius) Anchorite of Egypt

Commemorated on June 5

Hymn of Praise
SAINT ANOUB
Saint Nikolai Velimirovič

ceb1cf83cebaceb7cf84ceaecf82-cf80cf81cebfcf83ceb5cf85cf87ceae“Anoub, in just three dark nights,
To God you will go for reckoning.
Give us a profitable word!”
Three elders asked him, the three together.
Anoub to the elders replied:
“To persecution, I was exposed
For the honorable Cross and for the True Faith.
To the Lord I wanted to offer my head,
But from that, the Lord turned me;
The martyr’s wreath, He did not want to give me.
Never, the earthly, seek from God.
With every good the Lord has eased me.
Radiant angels, to me, have appeared;
Heavenly food have they brought me.
Whatever I asked of God I received.
Many mysteries I saw and comprehended;
I saw the heavens and the faces of angels,
Apostles, saints, martyrs,
Holy and joyful, heavenly faces.
And Paradise wondrous, wondrous and sweet.
I saw Hades and the torments of sinners,
And all the dark satanic hosts.
A lie from my lips, never issued forth;
All earthly delights I renounced.
The face of Christ, for me, shines greater than the sun.
Forgive me, Elders, Anoub the sinner!”

The Prologue from Ohrid: Lives of Saints by Saint Nikolai Velimirovič – http://www.westsrbdio.org/en/prologue/529-june-5

Apolytikion St.Abba Anoub in the Plagal of the Fourth Tone

In thee the image was preserved with exactness, O Father; for taking up thy cross, thou didst follow Christ, and by thy deeds thou didst teach us to overlook the flesh, for it passeth away, but to attend to the soul since it is immortal. Wherefore, O righteous Anoub, thy spirit rejoiceth with the Angels.

Apolytikion in the Fourth Tone
O God of our Fathers, ever dealing with us according to Thy gentleness: take not Thy mercy from us, but by their entreaties guide our life in peace.

Comments are closed.