iconandlight

Iconography and Hand painted icons

It worth to struggle for thousand years only to see this beauty just for a moment – A Vision of Christ. St. Paisios the Athonite

Άγιο Μανδήλιο-Βαρτζια-Γεωργια_Спас Нерукотво́рный-чудотворный-Мандилио́н Вардзиа, Грузия _The Holy Face Christ, Mandylion-Vardzia-Georgia- ვარძიაGr2004_36

O Lord, in the light of Thy countenance shall they walk, and in Thy, Name shall they rejoice all the day long.

“It worth to struggle for thousand years only to see this beauty just for a moment”. (Saint Paisios of Mount Athos)

“A Vision of Christ”

The Elder Paisios describes when Christ appeared to him:

Άγιο Μανδήλιο_Спас Нерукотво́рный-чудотворный Мандилио́н _The Holy Face of Edessa, Mandylion6It was the night of the Holy Forerunner, St. John the Baptist, (May 26th, 1977). The next day was St. Karpos’ feast day. I felt light and relaxed, like down feathers. I was thinking to write something about Father Tychon and send it to the sisters. Until around 8:30 (Athonite time) I had written thirty pages. Even though I wasn’t sleepy, I decided to lie down because my legs were feeling tired. It starts to dawn. It was 9 am (6am, worldly time) and I still had not gotten up. In a flash, the wall of my cell disappeared (beside the bed, towards the workshop). I see Christ within a light, about six meters away from me. I saw him from the side. His hair was blonde and his eyes were blue. He spoke to me. He was looking a little to my side, not directly at me. I was not seeing with my bodily eyes: Whether they were open or closed, it made no difference. I was seeing with the eyes of the soul.
When I saw Him I wondered: How could they spit upon such a face? How could they -those who do not fear God- place such a form [on the cross]? How can they drive nails into such a body? Oh!… It is as the psalm goes: “He who is more beautiful than all the sons of men” (Psalm 44:3 according to the Septuagint).

This is what it was. It would be worth it to struggle for a thousand years just to gaze upon such beauty for only a moment. What great and indescribable things that can be granted to people, and with what insignificant things do we occupy ourselves”…

[From the book by hieromonk Isaac (+1998), The Life of Elder Paisios the Hagiorite.]

Apolytikion of the Holy Mandylion of Christ. Tone 2.

We venerate your most pure icon, loving Lord, as we ask pardon of our offences, Christ God. For by your own choice you were well-pleased to ascend the Cross in the flesh, to deliver from the slavery of the enemy those whom you had fashioned; therefore with thanksgiving we cry to you: You have filled all things with joy, our Saviour, by coming to save the world.

Stichera Prosomia of the Holy Mandylion of Christ. Tone 2. With that garlands of praise.

With what eyes shall we who are born of earth look upon your image, which the armies of the Angels cannot look at without fear as it blazes with divine light? For it departs to-day from the land of unbelievers and by divine decree comes to dwell in the Queen of cities and among a people of true religion. At its entry Kings rejoice, O Christ, falling down before it with fear and faith.

Comments are closed.