iconandlight

Iconography and Hand painted icons

If we seek God, He will appear to us… Abba Arsenios

ΠΑΡΑΔΕΙΣΟΣ-Paradise-Рая-_N1XnJdg7BFs

“set a guard over my mouth, O Lord; keep watch over the door of my lips,” (Psalm 141:3)

“Above all things: Love Silence…” Let us love silence till the world is made to die in our hearts. Saint Isaac the Syrian  

Abba Arsenios, having withdrawn to the solitary life, prayed again, saying the same thing. And he heard a voice saying to him, Arsenios, flee, be silent, be still. For these are the root of sinlessness.

 Further, he said, If we seek God, He will appear to us, and if we hold onto Him, He will stay beside us.

They say about Abba Arsenios and Abba Theodore of Pherme, that, more than all the others, they hated the praise of men. For as Abba Arsenios would not readily meet anyone, so Abba Theodore would indeed meet them, but was like a sword.

“I have often repented for speaking, but I have never repented for keeping silent.”

Poemen said, “Whatever hardship comes upon you, it can be overcome by silence.”

“If you are silent, you will have peace wherever you live.” Abba Poemen

“Abba Joseph said to Abba Nisterus, ‘What should I do about my tongue, for I cannot control it?’ The old man said to him, ‘When you speak, do you find peace?’ He replied ‘No.’ The old man said, ‘If you do not find peace, why do you speak? Be silent and when a conversation takes place, it is better to listen than to speak.”

Abba Hyperechius said, “Do not utter any evil words from your mouth, for the vine does not produce thorns.”

The Sayings of the Desert Fathers

Prayer of Elder Sophrony

πορτα του Παραδεισου-door of Paradise-дверь Рая-t2MFp6JAPz0O Lord, unto whom all hearts are open, you know what I need and what is necessary for me. You know my blindness and my ignorance. You know my infirmity and corruption. My pain and anguish are not hidden from you. Therefore I beg you: Hear my prayer and teach me by the power of your Holy Spirit the way in which I should walk. And when my perverted will leads me otherwise, O Lord, do not spare me, but force me back to your way.

Grant me, Lord, to hold fast to what is good by the power of your love. Preserve me from every word and act which corrupts the soul, and from every impulse that is unpleasing in your sight and harmful to the people around me. Teach me what I should say and how I should speak. If it be your holy will that I be quiet and make no answer, inspire me to be silent in a peaceful spirit that causes neither harm nor hurt to my fellow human beings.

Establish me in the path of your commandments, and until my last breath do not let me stray from the light of your ordinances. May your commandments be the sole law of my being in this life and for all eternity.

O Lord, I pray to you: Have mercy on me. Spare me in my affliction and misery and hide not the way of salvation from me…

 

 

Comments are closed.