iconandlight

Iconography and Hand painted icons

Live simply and without thinking too much, like a child with his father. St. Paisios the Athonite

St. Paisios the Athonite

Glory to Thee, O Lord, Glory to Thee, O Holy One, Glory to Thee, O King…

ΠΑΝΑΓΙΑ_ΣΙΤΟΔΟΤΡΙΑ_ Божией Матери, именуемая Спорительница хлебов___Октябрь 15---8931f5ca259984a2b52cfd4942e73230“Live simply and without thinking too much, like a child with his father. Faith without too much thinking works wonders. The logical mind hinders the Grace of God and miracles. Practice patience without judging with the logical mind.”

 ‘This is our aim,to totally submit our mind to the Grace of God. The only thing Christ is asking from us is our humility. The rest is taken care of by His Grace.

“‘In the beginning, we should willingly try to develop positive thoughts, which will gradually lead us to the perfect good, God, to Whom belongs all glory, honor and worship. On the contrary, to us belongs only the humility of our conceited attitude’ ” (Ibid., p. 29).

Those who come close to people in pain, naturally draw near to God, because God is always by the side of His children who are in pain.

God spiritually strengthens His children who have philotimo, who help their fellow men carry their crosses, and He relieves them from their own crosses (trials).

Those who suffer trials unjustly imitate Christ; and those who face hardships due to their sins are blessed, because they are forgiven their sins in this life.

from the book Epistles by St. Paisios the Athonite (Souroti, 2002)

Psalm 30

O Lord, I have hoped in thee; let me never be ashamed: deliver me in thy righteousness and rescue me. 2 Incline thine ear to me; make haste to rescue me: be thou to me for a protecting God, and for a house of refuge to save me. 3 For thou art my strength and my refuge; and thou shalt guide me for thy name’s sake, and maintain me. 4 Thou shalt bring me out of the snare which they have hidden for me; for thou, O Lord, art my defender. 5 Into thine hands I will commit my spirit: thou hast redeemed me, O Lord God of truth. 6 Thou has hated them that idly persist in vanities: but I have hoped in the Lord. 7 I will exult and be glad in thy mercy: for thou hast looked upon mine affliction; thou hast saved my soul from distresses. 8 And thou hast not shut me up into the hands of the enemy: thou hast set my feet in a wide place. 9 Pity me, O Lord, for I am afflicted: my eye is troubled with indignation, my soul and by belly. 10 For my life is spent with grief, and my years with groanings: my strength has been weakened through poverty, and my bones are troubled. 11 I became a reproach among all mine enemies, but exceedingly so to my neighbours, and a fear to mine acquaintance: they that saw me without fled from me. 12 I have been forgotten as a dead man out of mind: I am become as a broken vessel. 13 For I heard the slander of many that dwelt round about: when they were gathered together against me, they took counsel to take my life. 14 But I hoped in thee, O Lord: I said, Thou art my God. 

Comments are closed.