iconandlight

Iconography and Hand painted icons

Pray to God with love and yearning.Saint Porphyrios the Kapsokalyvite of Milesi

Saint Porphyrios the Kapsokalyvite of Milesi , Oropos

Προσευχη_prayer_proseyhi_Молитва_A-_eWskPi3w“The flood of divine love fills the soul with joy and exultation.”

Pray to God with love and yearning. And when you repeat the prayer, “Lord Jesus Christ, have mercy on me.” Say it slowly, humbly, gently and with divine love. Pronounce the name of Christ with sweetness. Say the words one at a time: “Lord…Jesus…Christ…have mercy on me,” smoothly, tenderly, affectionally, silently, secretly, mystically, but with exaltation, with longing, with passion, without tension, force of unbecoming emphasis, without compulsion and pressure. In the way a mother speaks to the child she lovesL “my little boy…me darling girl…my little Johnny…my sweet Mary!”

This is the teaching. We say that prayer cannot be taught, but in point of fact it can be taught when you live with someone who truly prays. When you take a book about prayer and read it, it may be that you don’t understand anything. But when you have an elder next to you who prays, whatever he tells you about prayer you understand and take to heart.

The secret is to ask for your union with Christ with utter selflessness, without saying “give me this” or “give me that.”… We should ask for the will of God to be done.
The enemy is our egoism… Those who desire and crave to belong to Christ and who abandon themselves tot he will of God become worthy.

Comments are closed.