iconandlight

Iconography and Hand painted icons

A Miracle through the intercessions of St. George the Great Martyr, the Trophy-bearer

St. George the Great Martyr, the Trophy-bearer
Commemorated on 23 April and 3 November the Translation of the Relics and Dedication of the Temple of St. George in Lydda

«saith the Lord: from my mother’s womb he has called my name: 2 and he has made my mouth as a sharp sword, and he has hid me under the shadow of his hand; he has made me as a choice shaft, and he has hid me in his quiver; 3 and said to me, Thou art my servant, O Israel, and in thee I will be glorified».Esaias 49,1-3

A Miracle of Saint George the Trophy-bearer and Wonderworker

God has worked many, many miracles through the intercessions of St. George. Here is the story of one such miracle. It was told by a monk called Abba George:

“When I was once walking and climbing up a mountain and holding a Cross in my hand, an old monk met me. Taking the cross from me, he went in front of me. After we had gone a short distance, he turned aside onto a path. I followed him. As we went on, I saw a flock of sheep and a child shepherd lying on the ground and dying from snake-bite. Near that place was a spring. The old man said to me, ‘Bring some water and pour it on the cross.’

“We brought some water and opened the child’s mouth and poured the water onto the cross into the child’s mouth. Then the old man said, “In the Name of the Holy Trinity, St. George the Great Martyr heals thee.’ “The child vomited out the deadly poison and stood up. “Then the old man said to him, ‘Tell me, did you not curse that poor widow yesterday – who had entrusted her sheep to you to feed but which you sold for three silver coins? Did you not tell her that a wolf had eaten that sheep?’ “The child replied to him, ‘Yes, Father, I really did. But how did you know about it?’ “The old mans aid to him, ‘When I was sitting in my cell, a man on a white horse came to me and said, ‘Sophronius! Rise quickly and go to the spring which is on your right, to the south. There you will find a child bitten by a snake, and you will also find a monk holding in his hands a cross cut out of wood. Take that cross and pour water on it and give the child that water to drink. Then say the following words: In the Name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit, the servant of God the Martyr George heals thee. Then say to the child, ‘Do not curse with the Name of God any more, nor by His saints, and do not deal dishonestly with anyone, and give back the sheep to the poor widow that something worse may not happen to you.’’

“When the boy heard this, he threw himself at the old man’s feet and said, ‘Forgive me, Father, for all this is really true. I sold the widow’s sheep for three silver pieces and yesterday I deceived her and said that a wolf had eaten it. The woman said to me, ‘Is that true or not?’ And I said to her, ‘Yes, I can call the true God as my witness.’ The woman said to me, ‘Surely you know that I am a poor widow? However, do as you like. But see, God and St. George will ask an account of you, because I promised to give that sheep to the poor on the Feast of St. George.’ But (the boy continued) as I fell into sin, I pray you, Father, pray for me to God and St. George that my sin may be forgiven me. And now I will give that woman three goats on St. George’s Day and till the end of my life I will give every year on the Feast of the Holy Martyr for the use of the poor one tenth of all that I earn.’

“In this way, after asking the prayers and forgiveness of blessed Sophronius, that purified youth went to his work, thanking God and His servant the Great Martyr St. George.”

(Life and miracle adapted from The Great Martyr George by St. Nectarios Press)
https://dormitioninconcord.wordpress.com/2012/05/05/life-of-saint-george/

This particular wonderful Saint is the glory of all martyrs, the boast of the Saints and the prestige of the Heavens and the Church Triumphant. He is the all- mighty and Victory-bearer George.

St. George the Trophy-bearer, intercede for us all and help us!Pray to God for us! Pray that we labor in the fast with joy, and let God’s light illumine our hearts.Pray that we can learn to live out our Christian vocation in all times and places, and in all circumstances.Through the intercessions of St. George the Great-martyr,the Trophy-bearer and St. Martyr Polychronia mother of St. George the Trophy-bearer and our mother,O Lord, have mercy on us and save us! Amen.

Troparion of St George the Trophy-bearer Tone 4

As the deliverer of captives and the protector of the poor, as the physician of the feeble and combatant of kings, holy champion and great martyr George, intercede with Christ our God to save our souls.

Comments are closed.