iconandlight

Iconography and Hand painted icons

My love is nailed to the Cross… St. Ignatius of Antioch “Theophorus”

St. Ignatius of Antioch “Theophorus” – the God-bearer

Commemorated on December 20 and January 29 (Translation of Relics)

‘Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace, good will among men!’

“We have not only to be called Christians,
but to be Christians.”
-St. Ignatius of Antioch-

”At the same time came the disciples unto Jesus, saying, Who is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven? 2 And Jesus called a little child unto him, and set him in the midst of them, 3 And said, Verily I say unto you, Except ye be converted, and become as little children, ye shall not enter into the kingdom of heaven. 4 Whosoever therefore shall humble himself as this little child, the same is greatest in the kingdom of heaven. 5 And whoso shall receive one such little child in my name receiveth me. 6 But whoso shall offend one of these little ones which believe in me, it were better for him that a millstone were hanged about his neck, and that he were drowned in the depth of the sea.” Matth. 18,1-5

Saint Nikolai Velimirovič

Ιγνάτιος ο Θεοφόρος_ Св. Игнатий Богоносец епископ Антиохийский_ St. Ignatius of AntiochФрески церкви св. Никиты в с. Чучер,Сербия_архив мастерской Красавиных.www.sankire.ru (381)The holy martyrs, seized with the love of Christ, were like unquenchable flames. This love eased their sufferings and made their deaths sweet. St. Chrysostom says of St. Ignatius: “He put off his body with as much ease as one takes off his clothes.” Traveling to Rome to his death, Ignatius feared only one thing: that Christians would somehow prevent his martyrdom for Christ, by their prayers to God or in some outward manner. Therefore he continually implored them, in writing and in speech, not to do this. “Forgive me,” he said. “I know what is for my benefit. I but begin to be a disciple of Christ when I desire nothing, either visible or invisible, save to attain Christ. May every diabolical torture come upon me: fire, crucifixion, wild beasts, the sword, tearing asunder, the crushing of my bones, and the dismemberment of my whole body–only that I may receive Jesus Christ. It is better for me to die for Christ than to reign to the ends of the earth…. My love is nailed to the Cross, and there is no fire of love in me for any earthly thing.” When he was brought to the circus, he turned to the people with these words: “Citizens of Rome, know that I am not being punished for any crime, neither have I been condemned to death for any transgression, but rather for the sake of my God, by Whose love I am overcome and Whom I insatiably desire. I am His wheat, and the teeth of the wild beasts will grind me to be His pure bread.” When he had been devoured by the wild beasts, by God’s providence his heart remained among the bones. When the unbelievers cut open the saint’s heart, they saw inside, inscribed in golden letters, the name Jesus Christ.

The Prologue from Ohrid: Lives of Saints by Saint Nikolai Velimirovič
http://www.westsrbdio.org/en/prologue/729-december-20

Ιγνάτιος ο Θεοφόρος_ Св. Игнатий Богоносец епископ Антиохийски_ St. Ignatius of Antioch__St. Ignatius of Antioch “Theophorus”saint_10Humility is the key that opens Heaven’s gates

Only the humble enter the Kingdom of Heaven.

When emptied of us throughout our egoism, the whole God enters our.

Elder Ignatius Kapnisis of Evia

Troparion St. Ignatius of Antioch (Tone 4)

By sharing in the ways of the Apostles, you became a successor to their throne. Through the practice of virtue, you found the way to divine contemplation,O inspired one of God; by teaching the word of truth without error, you defended the Faith,even to the shedding of your blood. Hieromartyr Ignatius, entreat Christ God to save our souls.

 

Comments are closed.