iconandlight

Iconography and Hand painted icons

Let us love Christ…with fervor, with Divine eros. Saint Porphyrios the Kapsokalyvite of Milesi

Saint Porphyrios the Kapsokalyvite of Milesi , Oropos

“I have run to the fragrance of myrrh, O Christ God, For I have been wounded by your love; do not part from me, O heavenly Bridegroom.”

Ιγνάτιος ο Θεοφόρος_ Св. Игнатий Богоносец епископ Антиохийский_ St. Ignatius of Antioch__52627.bChrist is everything
“IF God be for us, who can be against us? Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine,or nakedness, or peril, or sword? Neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come,nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord” [Rom.8: 31, 35, 38-39].

Christ is new life.
How can I say that? Christ is everything!

Let us love Christ.
Then the name of Christ will burst forth from within us with impellent desire, with fervor, with Divine eros.
We will shout His name secretly, without speaking words.
Let us stand before God in adoration, humbly, and in the footsteps of Christ,- that Christ may free us from every trace of our fallen nature.
Let us ask for tears to be given to us before prayer.
But be careful! Do not let your right hand know what the left is doing [Matth.6: 3].
Pray with contrition: “Am I worthy for You to give such Grace, O Christ“?
And then these tears become tears of gratitude.
I am deeply moved; I have not done the will of God, but I ask for His mercy. Pray to God with love and yearning, in tranquility, with meekness, gently and without forcing yourself.
And when you repeat the prayer, “Lord Jesus Christ, have mercy on me“, [or the shortest way during your work; “Kyrië eleison”,] say it slowly, humbly, gently and with Divine love.
Pronounce the name of Christ with sweetness.
Say the words one at a time: “Lord…Jesus…Christ…have mercy on me“, smoothly, tenderly, affectionately, silently, secretly mystically, but with exaltation, with longing, with passion, without tension, force or unbecoming emphasis, without compulsion and pressure.
In the way a mother speaks to the child she loves:
“my little boy…my darling girl…my little Johnny…my wee Mary”!
With longing. Yes, longing. That’s the whole secret.
Here the heart is speaking: “My little child, my joy“! “My Lord, my Jesus, my Jesus, my Jesus“!
“What you have in your heart and in your mind, that is what you express with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind” [Luc.10: 27].
No need to add anything to this!

Elder Porphyrios, On Prayer 

Comments are closed.