iconandlight

Iconography and Hand painted icons

A Vision of divine light, Saint Paisios of Mount Athos

The Transfiguration of Christ

Commemorated on August 6

”O Lord, in the light of Thy countenance shall they walk, and in Thy, Name shall they rejoice all the day long.”

A Vision of divine light

Saint Paisios of Mount Athos

The Elder said: “When I was at Katounakia, in the cell of Hypatios, one afternoon… I was saying the Jesus prayer constantly. Around eleven o’clock at night, there came a sweet light that filled the cell. It was very intense, but it did not blind me. I understood immediately that my eyes had been ‘strengthened’, in order to endure the brightness.  While I was in this state, in this divine light, I was in another world, a spiritual one. I felt an inexplicable gladness, and my body was lightened; it had lost its heaviness. I felt the Grace of God, the divine illumination. Divine messages quickly passed through my mind like questions and answers.

        I did not have any problems, not even things to ask about; but I asked and quickly received an answer. The answers were with human words, but they contained theology as those words were divine. And the words were so many that, if written down, one would have another ‘Evergetinos’ (a collection of sayings and stories of the Holy Fathers, compiled by St. Nikodemos the Hagiorite). The experience continued until morning. When that light disappeared, everything seemed so dark. I went outside and it was like night. I asked a monk who was passing through: ‘What time is it? Didn’t the sun rise yet?’  He looked at me and in a perplexed manner he asked: ‘What did you say, Father Paisios?’ ‘What did I say?’, asking myself, as I went back inside. I looked at the clock, and then realized what had happened. It was nine o’clock in the morning, and the day seemed as night to me! The sun looked as thought it was barely shining; as if there was a solar eclipse. I was like someone who, after seeing a bright light, was immediately thrown into the darkness. What a great difference that was!”…

(Saint Paisios of Mount Athos ,Spiritual Counsels Vol. VI: On Prayer. Souroti: 2012).
Comments are closed.